My TLC review

tlc
The original group members left to right: Tionne “T-Boz” Watkins, Lisa “Left-Eye” Lopes, and Rozonda “Chili” Thomas

tl

Cast members left to right: Drew Sidora as (T-Boz), Keke Palmer (Chili), and Naitia “Lil Mama” Kirkland (Left-Eye)

I had to give my 2 1/2 cents on the TLC movie that aired last night on VH1. I mean they are only my favorite group of all time! Yahoo reported that it was Cable’s Highest Rated Original Movie Of 2013, Drawing In 4.5 Million Total Viewers last night. I’m going to start out with saying I think they did a great job on the casting first off. All the girls did a great job at bringing to life each character and just as I suspected Lil Mama stole the show in my opinion. She was who I wanted to see the most and she didn’t disappoint. This may be a new beginning for her….maybe. They touched on how the all girl group got their start with the record company and how Rozonda “Chili” Thomas who wasn’t an original member became a part of the trio. It also highlighted Tionne “T-Boz” Watkins struggle with her illness sickle cell anemia. The group members many relationships were put out there with Chili and then producer Dallas Austin who she has a child with. Of course they didn’t leave out Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes and the infamous Andre Rison and the burning of the mansion story, because that was pure gold! Through all of that I’m still trying to understand how these young girls went bankrupt being #1 on the charts and how they got swindled into these bad contracts at such a young age? Where were their parents and why would they be okay with a stipend of $25 a week? Hunny that red flag smacked them in the beginning but for whatever reason they continued to tour and sing their little hearts out. Overall it was a good watch with a few minor loop holes that you will have to figure out on your own.
The fact that it was a good movie didn’t stop people from posting their funny meme’s and opinions all over Twitter, Instagram and Facebook. I’m always here for the jokes, a good ki ki and chuckle makes my day. Everybody was laughing except for Pebbles. Rumor has it she is highly pissed about how she was portrayed as a money stealing backstabber on the biopic. hmm… Clearly “T-Boz and “Chili” felt the same since they were highly involved in the making of the movie… So you do the math, but make sure it makes sense in the end unlike that contract. I’m sure this movie will air for years to come and I’ll be on my couch every single time to watch!

As of 10 AM this morning, TLC’s new soundtrack for the film, “20” from Epic Records, jumped from #43 to #5 on the iTunes overall chart, and jumped to #1 on the iTunes R&B chart. I haven’t gotten my copy yet but I’ll have it soon.

movie

Image

Leave a Reply

