Criticism and Parenting

These past few weeks I have been thinking non-stop on my parenting techniques. Why? Because it’s so easy for someone on the outside looking in to tell you what you’re doing wrong. I had to step back and take a look at what I was doing. I have a rambunctious little 7 year old who definitely is set in his spoiled little ways. Lol. He is the only child, grandchild, and great-grandchild on my side and oldest on his  father’s side. Smh. Meaning he gets his way most times, even when he shouldn’t. Everybody contributes to the spoiling but not the discipline. I’m the disciplinary for the most part. So as soon as he is misbehaving everyone points the finger at the mom and the parenting and that is wrong! I don’t think any parent likes to be critiqued on their parenting, especially when that’s the only time you open your mouth.  I think all grandparents give advice because they feel they’ve done it before and you couldn’t possibly know how to raise your child. But they don’t realize that as the grandparent most times they become the enabler. Lol. I’m thankful that he is able to grow up with his grandparents and great-grandparents though it’s such a blessing. Most don’t have that. He also has my partners parents who support and help. He is a blessed little busy boy lol. I welcome positive advice but the negativity can take a left. I’m just rambling at this point. These are just some Sunday morning thoughts. =)

Leave a Reply

